Global usage resets are infuriating and there should be a way to opt out.

OpenAI promote global resets as a positive move that restore all users allowances to 100%. In reality, they are actually just an arbitrary shortening of the seven-day window we have to spend our existing usage allowance. Sometimes we get the full seven days to use our allowance, while other times the effective window might be a single day, two and a half days, five days, etc. It is impossible to know at the start of the window. This makes it impossible to properly plan work ahead of schedule, and is unacceptable for a subscription service that is so expensive. The usual argument people use when I raise this complaint is that I should use up my allowance early in the seven-day window to then benefit from a later reset. But that is a gamble, since it is often the case that a reset does not happen at all. In that case I would be left with no usage remaining in the latter part of the window. I am paying £200 per month and should not have to enter into that type of gamble. Often due to work or life commitments it isn't even possible to do this. The resets make planning impossible. The global resets also disproportionately impact the customers paying the most. It is relatively easy to use up remaining allowance on the cheapest subscriptions before a global reset, but that is not the case on the 20x plan. The larger the allowance, the more usage can effectively be lost when an unexpected reset cuts the existing window short The communication is also appalling. There is no email or in-app notification. Instead, for some reason I have to monitor the social media account of an OpenAI employee on a specific website. Of course, OpenAI doesn't even communicate what employee or what social media site. There are four solutions: 1) Make all promotional resets banked. 2) Global usage resets do not reset the seven-day window. 3) Allow users to opt out of the global resets. 4) Provide in-app or email notification of upcoming global resets at the beginning of a user's usage window. Of course, there is an option 5) - the user leaves OpenAI and subscribes to Anthropic. The global reset issue, combined with the upcoming reduction to the 20x plan at the end of October, means this is what I will be doing. It's a shame, as Astra is excellent for my use case.

添加评论
点赞收藏
点踩分享查看原文
评论
?
参与讨论