Resetting Local Network Privacy
Of all the privacy protections in macOS, those for local networking are among the most recent and the least understood. All non-exempted apps and other processes start without any privilege. Those that try to make a local network connection result in the user being prompted to allow or deny their access. Your decision is then recorded in that app’s new entry in the Local Network section, and you can then set that to allow or deny its future access. For that to happen, the responsible app needs an additional item in its property list to explain to you why it requires that access, something that should appear in any prompt for access. A process with a short life that immediately fails if it can’t complete a local network operation may not trigger a user prompt, and can continue to fail repeatedly as it can’t be granted the privilege. Apple recommends changing the code so that it doesn’t exit immediately after failure, to allow the prompt to be displayed and access granted.
Another clue came in the statement in that note that “on macOS there’s no way to reset your program’s Local Network privilege to the undetermined state”. This contrasts with pretty well every other category of privacy protection, which are handled by the dreaded TCC, Transparency Consent and Control.
This has now changed in macOS 27.2.
During testing, you might want to reset your program’s Local Network privilege to the undetermined state. Your options for this vary by platform. On iOS, the easiest option is to delete your app. Alternatively, if you don’t want to delete your app for some reason, reset the entire privacy subsystem using Settings > General > Transfer or Reset > Reset > Reset Location & Privacy. On macOS, the list in System Settings > Privacy & Security > Local Network has add (+) and remove (-) buttons. To reset your program’s Local Network privilege, select it in the list and click the remove button.
Previously:
评论
?
参与讨论